Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is a working group of professionals passionate about supporting young people of color and making the Fox Cities the most welcoming and inclusive place to live. On a volunteer basis, the board manages all aspects of Appleton A Better Chance, including student life, financial, and administrative needs.

If you have questions about the organizations or if you’d like explore becoming a board member, please contact us at

Current Board Members

Aaron Ninneman— Member at Large

Aaron Spaulding — Treasurer

Chuck Erickson — Student Affairs Chair & College Prep Coordinator

Curt Lauderdale — Past President

Dan Freiermuth — Resident Director

Greg Curtis — Member at Large

Jaime Gonzalez — Recruitment Chair

Jacque Smedburg — School Liaison

Shannon Gerke-Corrigan — Fundraising Chair

Sheri Fetting — President

Sheree Garvey — Correspondence Secretary

Tyler Van Fossen — Compliance Secretary

Open Board Positions:

Host Family Coordinator 

Marketing and PR Chair